Skip to main content

MB News

Manhattan Beach Coordinating Council Awards $28.5K in Scholarships

May 19, 2023 02:33PM ● By Mb News Staff

Mira Costa High School scholarship recipients, from left to right: Sydney Huber, Chase Savela, Nicole Macias, Heather Jensen, Myles Idrovo, Kyle Fukumoto, Ava Reyes, Taylor Bennett, Leah Donlevy.

The Manhattan Beach Coordinating Council awarded $28,500 in scholarships to nine Mira Costa High School seniors on Thursday.

The recipients (pictured above, from left to right), were:

Sydney Huber - Surfrider Foundation South Bay Environment Scholarship (headed to Lehigh University)
Chase Savela - Health and Wellness Scholarship (headed to UCLA)
Nicole Macias - MBCC Outstanding Female Scholarship (headed to University of Michigan)
Heather Jensen - Desolation Wilderness Scholarship (headed to MIT)
Myles Idrovo - MBCC Outstanding Male Scholarship (headed to Washington University in St. Louis)
Kyle Fukumoto - MBCC Academic and Service Scholarship (headed to University of Pennsylvania)
Ava Reyes - Manhattan Beach Police Officers' Association Officer Martin Ganz Memorial Scholarship (headed to UC Berkeley)
Taylor Bennett - Joyce Davis Memorial Scholarship (headed to UC San Diego)
Leah Donlevy - MBCC Academic and Service Scholarship (headed to USC)

Manhattan Beach Coordinating Council

The Manhattan Beach Coordinating Council is a local group that promotes networking, communication and information exchange among agencies, organizations and individuals; and  provides recognition to local students.

The group honors students at luncheons in November, January, March, and April; recipients are chosen by their schools and teachers. 

At the group's May luncheon, it awards scholarships to Mira Costa High School seniors. The scholarship recipients are chosen by the MBCC Board. 

The MBCC Executive Board includes Brianne Edwards, president; Carolyn Leserman, vice president; Suzanne Hadley, treasurer; Ro Schreiner, secretary; and also directors Abby Waddell, Sylvia Gayed, Elaine Trotter, Traci Horowitz, Richard Montgomery, Cindy Ellenberg, and Ali Steward.

Subscribe to MB News Emails * Don't Miss a Thing, Sign Up Today!

* indicates required
Email Format

Subscribe to MB News Emails * Don't Miss a Thing, Sign Up Today!

* indicates required
Email Format