Skip to main content

MB News

AVP Manhattan Beach Open Winners Earn Plaques on Pier

Aug 17, 2023 10:21PM ● By Mb News Staff

Left: Sara Hughes’ father, Rory Hughes (Sara Hughes was unable to attend while competing internationally) and Kelley Kolinske; and right: Tri Bourne and Trevor Crabb  celebrate their 2022 Manhattan Beach Open wins. (Photo credit: Mpu Dinani/AVP)

The 2023 AVP Manhattan Beach Open festivities kicked off Thursday afternoon with the unveiling of the reigning champions’ plaques on the Manhattan Beach Pier’s Walk of Fame. 

2022 winners Sara Hughes, Kelley Kolinske, Tri Bourne and Trevor Crabb are now among beach volleyball’s greatest players with their names enshrined on the pier.

For Bourne and Crabb, the plaque marked their second as partners, as they teamed up to win the 2021 Manhattan Beach Open as well.

Crabb now has his name on the pier three times, having also won with Reid Priddy in 2019. Crabb became the first male player to win the Manhattan Beach Open three straight times since Olympic gold medalist Phil Dalhausser and Todd Rogers did it as a pair from 2006-08.

“You forget the legacy of this tournament until you get to this day, and you get reminded of how special it is,” said Bourne. “It’s crazy to be a part of the history of this sport, and to do it twice is wild; it’s hard to comprehend for me. It’s definitely something I’m super proud of and to do it with Trevor is a big deal.” “It’s because of legends before us... that it gives us the inspiration and drive to come out try and win more of these and be on their level,” added Crabb.

This is the first plaque for both Hughes and Kolinske.

“It’s such an honor to be here and to have both Sara's and my name on the pier,” Kolinske said. “This is such an incredible tournament to have year in and year out.”

Hughes was unable to attend due to competing overseas, and was represented at the event by her father.

Kolinske, Bourne and Crabb will all have the opportunity to repeat last year’s winnings, but all are competing with new partners this year.

More on the AVP Manhattan Beach Open

The AVP Gold Series Manhattan Beach Open is being played just south of the Manhattan Beach Pier from Thursday through Sunday, as beach volleyball's best athletes compete for a $300,000 prize purse, tied for the highest total payout this season.

General admission to the AVP Gold Series Manhattan Beach Open is free every day, with the option to purchase premium seating for Club AVP, Premium Club, The Deck, and Courtside Boxes, all ranging in price. Tickets are available now at

The tournament features 32-team women’s and men’s fields competing in a double-elimination bracket across 10 courts from Friday through Sunday. Each gender’s bracket consists of 16 teams automatically entered based on the AVP ranking points, eight wild cards and eight teams who earned entry through Thursday's open qualifying tournament.

Main draw competition of the AVP Gold Series Manhattan Beach Open will run from approximately 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m. PT on Friday and Saturday, and 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. on Sunday. Live coverage of the women’s and men’s finals are scheduled to begin at 1:00 p.m. PT on ESPN2.

Live brackets for both the women’s and men’s competitions can be viewed here and will be updated in real time through each day of play. All matches on Stadium Court will stream live on ESPN+ in the US and on TSN+ in Canada, and all matches played on Courts 1 and 2 will be available live on the Bally Live app.

See Where to Watch on the AVP’s website for full details.

Notable Matchups for Friday

Friday's notable matchups include an appearance by Mira Costa volleyball standout Erin Inskeep, who advanced with her partner Clara Stowell during Thursday's qualifying rounds.

Matches to watch include:


  • 9 a.m. PT: First round - (1) Betsi Flint/Julia Scoles vs. (32) Chloe Loreen/Natalie Robinson

  • 9 a.m. PT: First round - (5) Sarah Pavan/Geena Urango vs. (28) Katie Spieler/Torrey Van Winden

  • 9:50 a.m. PT: First round - (3) Megan Kraft/Emily Stockman vs. (30) Allison Hansen/Kate Reilly

  • 9:50 a.m. PT: First round - (4) Toni Rodriguez/Savy Simo vs. (29) Erin Inskeep/Clara Stowell

  • 11:30 a.m. PT: First round - (2) Corinne Quiggle/Sarah Schermerhorn vs. (31) Audrey Nourse/Nicole Nourse

  • Second-round matches at 11:30 a.m., 12:30 and 1:30 p.m.


  • 9 a.m. PT: First round - (1) Theo Brunner/Trevor Crabb vs. (32) John Schwengal/David Wieczorek

  • 9 a.m. PT: First round - (5) Evan Cory/Troy Field (28) Charlie Siragusa/Ben Vaught

  • 9:50 a.m. PT: First round - (3) Chase Budinger/Miles Evans vs. (30) Zephyr Dew/Tomas Goldsmith

  • 9:50 a.m. PT: First round - (4) Taylor Crabb/Taylor Sander vs. (29) Peter Connole/Steven Roschitz

  • 11:30 a.m. PT: First round - (2) Tri Bourne/Chaim Schalk vs. (31) Guillermo Jimenez/Spencer Loch

  • Second-round matches at 11:30 a.m., 12:30 and 1:30 p.m.

Subscribe to MB News Emails * Don't Miss a Thing, Sign Up Today!

* indicates required
Email Format

Subscribe to MB News Emails * Don't Miss a Thing, Sign Up Today!

* indicates required
Email Format